In gratitude – My China’s experience

DSCF1236

My Chinese relatives and myself visited the tombs of our grandparents, which are located high up in a mountain in Zhao Qing, Guangdong China.

My recent stay in my ancestral village (Zhao Qing in Guangdong, China) was a memorable and healing experience.

As I prayed before the tomb of my grandparents, I could not help but expressed my deep gratitude for their sacrifices. They endured hardships and sacrifice most of their life for their children. Perhaps this is the success secret of the Chinese people – always ensuring a better life for future generations. No wonder, the Ching Ming festival (similar to the Christian’s all souls day) is more important than any other Chinese festivals such as Chinese New year. Everyone (including those who lived in the cities) is expected to return home and visit / pay honor to the family’s departed relatives especially the grandparents and great grandparents.

Compared to my previous visit (17 years ago), there is significant air pollution in the country. We often blamed the Chinese for our present environmental problems. But how many of us are aware that the cheaper products (cell phones, computers, house hold items etc) that we now enjoy are the result of hard work and sacrifices of the Chinese? We should be grateful for that.

As Meister Eckhart, the 13th century spiritual master said – If your only prayer is thanks, that is enough.

About sliew

I am a practicing Medical herbalist and doctor of naturopathy from Singapore.
This entry was posted in Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In gratitude – My China’s experience

  1. Vivien Ler says:

    Hi Sebastian
    Thanks for sharing your experience. Indeed, the comforts of today hinged on the sacrifices of the past generations.
    Best
    Vivien

Leave a Reply

