I know is wrong but I just couldn’t help it.

Part of my clinical work involves seeing patients with depression, anxiety, panic attacks, post traumatic stress disorder etc.

Some common remarks from patients are –

”I went for counselling and I know all the answers but I just could not help it – anger, irritation, lust, depression, worry etc. I feel so guilty. I know is wrong but I can’t help it. Everyone seems to tell me that anger, anxiety (you don’t trust God?)… are ”sins”.

”I went for spiritual counselling and my priest/pastor/monk told me to let go. But how to let go?’ I knew all the answers but I just don’t have that chemistry to do it.

I believe that the causes of failure in the above approaches are – failure to appreciate the interdependence of the physical body, mind and the soul. We need to address on these levels at the same time. This is why I spent so much time explaining it in my book Leaf to Life.

We should not suppress our emotions by pretending that they are not there or to put a mask in order to look ‘holy’. These emotions need to be transformed through therapies such as movement, art music and the sacred hour prayer method in my book (Under chapter on spirituality).

I noticed that healing cannot takes place just by telling people what is right and wrong. If you are depressed, worry for no reason etc., look deeper. Perhaps some nutrient deficiencies or chemical imbalance or knots untied in the past – child hood issues, past traumatic experiences, family upbringing… all these left a wound in your soul and mind.

About sliew

I am a practicing Medical herbalist and doctor of naturopathy from Singapore.
This entry was posted in [ Read All ]. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

