Inner Life Holiday

Singaporeans love to go for holidays. It is a good break for many of us. For many of us, a holiday means to eat, shop, and play.

I wrote in my book Leaf to Life: Unlock nature’s secrets to true health that another form of the holiday may be a better option –  inner life holiday.

An inner life holiday is not about Spa packages, massage, or even a 10 days fasting program (though they can be part of it).

An inner life holiday is like a journey through a labyrinth. A labyrinth is not a maze. I used to visit the labyrinth in Seven Fountains Retreat center in Chiangmai to find myself and to discover my center. The labyrinth exercise starts with meditation or reflection on our life journey – our hopes, our shortcoming, our imperfections, our psychological defenses, our hurts, our egocentric attitude etc. Are all these causing my endless worry, anxiety, depression, disharmony in my life? Then we can go back to the center of our being and resolve to be a better person for myself and others, and family. We may fail again (who don’t?) but we need to try again to go back to the center and ask for the grace to be a better person. This is one of the purposes of life’s journey.

This kind of holiday is a true break. It breaks away from the busyness of everyday life. It is not about having more activities (even if it is religious in nature) and more programs. We have enough of these in our everyday life.  Inner life brings the focus back to our center, and not fragmented by everyday chaos, others’ expectation, noise, endless mental activity (cell phones, movies..), intellectual discourse, and artificial stimulation etc. You can truly feel at peace and fulfills what I called the 1st Credo in my book – I love myself.

Our lives are fragmented. I believe this is one of the main causes of family break up, miscommunication, and disharmony.

Therefore, strive to discover your center via an inner life holiday. Let me know if you need my help and pointers.

 

 

 

About sliew

I am a practicing Medical herbalist and doctor of naturopathy from Singapore.
This entry was posted in [ Read All ]. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

